I love words.  I love the written word, the spoken word and even word games.  Words can uplift, encourage, inspire, praise and worship.

Psalm 37:30

The mouths of the righteous utter wisdom, and their tongues speak what is just.

There is no doubt that words are important but let’s remember that action speaks louder then words.

I love you.  Three of the most powerful words to speak yet we often take it lightly.  I love a good taco.  I love Tim Tebow.  I love, I love, I love.

When you speak do your actions back up your words?  I have loved ones far away who not only say in written or spoken words, “I love you”, “I’m there for you” but they act it out.  I’ve had friends call and say dinner will be delivered in 30 minutes only for me to answer the door and find a pizza delivery guy there.  I’ve had boxes arrive on my door step with every day supplies while I was between jobs.  These lovely people knew that just words, though good for my heart, needed action.

Remember that love is a verb.  This goes both relationally and spiritually.  God has called us to action.  Let’s not forget the great commission.

Matthew 28:19-20

19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

John 15:13

Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.

I challenge you, and myself to be people who mean what we speak and take action to the words we have spoken.   Let this be a season of taking action.

