Isaiah 26

1 In that day this song will be sung in the land of Judah:
We have a strong city;
God makes salvation
its walls and ramparts.

2 Open the gates
that the righteous nation may enter,
the nation that keeps faith.

3 You will keep in perfect peace
him whose mind is steadfast,
because he trusts in you.

4 Trust in the LORD forever,
for the LORD, the LORD, is the Rock eternal.

Today was a rather tough day.  Let’s just say Murphy knocked on our door.  One bad turn of events led to another and then another and then another.   However, I was able to give it to Christ and reach out to others and ask for prayer support.  That just allows me to settle into even deeper peace knowing others are taking my name to the throne of God.

I must admit thatChristmas peace at first I was upset especially since this is the Christmas week.  Why would this all have to happen now?  How could we have so little and be thankful?  This made me stop and ponder the first Christmas.   Journey with me will you?

It’s dark and cold.  A very pregnant and hormonal Mary has been riding on the back of Donkey for a very long journey.  Pregnancy at this point makes the whole body hurt but riding on the back of animal for long days would make it worse.  Her blessed Joseph is walking and sharing his food with the mule so it would have strength to carry Mary and their child.  He must have been tired, sore and hungry.  They arrive in Bethlehem to be greeted by a mass of humanity.  Each place they inquired at did not have any vacancies.  By then Mary may The babehave been in labor and trying to be patient.  Panic may have risen in both her and Joseph over concern for the birth and where they would be.  Finally a dark, damp cave is offered.  The cave was used as a stable.  A place of animal food and waste.  It must of had a horrible stench. There in this filthy place Mary finally laid down to rest her back, only to go into labor.  A chill was in the air,  hunger pains in her stomach and yet she pushed.   She pushed and labored until finally the child gives out a cry and so does Mary.  Her son was born.   Joseph holds their son, our Savior.

As I sit here in front of my TV with my feet up and laptop in hand I am humbled. I may not live in a house. I may not have a full bank account or even a refrigerator full of food but I do have a very real relationship with that child.  This makes me very rich in deed.

So I sit here realizing that this crisis shall also pass.  That others will come.  I will chose to put my trust in that child and remain steadfast in my faith.

