Not to long ago my church went through a parenting series. One of the topics covered was about family values. We were given a worksheet to take home and work with our family on our own values.

So that day my kids and I went to Whole foods for lunch and sat down to write our family values. We took out the paper and there was the first hurdle. The first blank to fill in is our family name. Now we all have the same last name but I am divorced and my kids want to change our last name. So I put our current name. That was then scratched out and my maiden name was placed there. But we all looked at each other a bit puzzled. So I have taken the issue into my own hands and here is the end result. The values were written by my children and myself.

Carol’s lil Family Values

– We will be honest
– We obey the first time
– Our yes will be yes and our no will be no
– We will admit when we do something wrong
– We choose God over popularity
– We always do our best
– We make wise choices
– We will respect our elders/authority figures
– We will treat others the way we want to be treated
– We will not do drugs

I think this is going to be an ongoing list. One that we add to over time. I am a very blessed Mom to have such God loving kids.

