I must confess here and now that I have an inner NO! That voice that says I can not, I am not able, I am not worthy and so on and so on and so on. AsData I sit at my laptop putting these thoughts down I am realizing I will need to read this probably every day for a very long time. I remember a Star Trek: The Next Generation episode where Data was having some problems and Geordi LaForge needed to reprogram his neuronet. They hooked him up and began the reprogramming process. Well, I need to reprogram my thinking.

In the movie the “Pursuit of Happyness” Will Smith’s character tells his son, “ do not let anyone tell you can not do something, even me.” As a parent I want to step back and see if I have encouraged my children or if I have started to program their neuronets to say NO to them. Do I tell them, “it can’t be done, you can’t do that, it will never happen”? These are the very things I say to myself.

I have been unemployed for over ten months now. I am highly skilled, motivated , hard working and thankful for any work that is given to me. During this time of my life I have told myself on more then one occasion that I must be incapable of finding a job. I am not worthy of a job. I am unable to provide for my family and the list goes on. I am sure you have experienced something similar in your life time.

This applies to other areas like relationships. My internal dialogue says things like, “I can not live up to the expectations my parents had for me, my children must see me as a failure and my boyfriend is too good for me, I am not worthy of him”.

Can you identify? Do you see your internal dialogue in what I have shared with you? Many of us do this and it can cause us to quite before we have even started. So what do we do about it?Pursuit of Happiness

I think Will Smith’s character is correct. Don’t let anyone tell you that you can not do anything. This is where the program in your neuronet becomes corrupt. We listen to what others say to us and we believe it.

So we need to reprogram that neuronet. Unlike Data we can not hook up our neuronets and download or upgrade our programming. What we do need to do is something a bit similar but low tech. We need to take in the word of God and listen to His promises about ourselves. We need to write these on our hearts. I encourage you to surround yourself with them. Write them on your bathroom mirror, put them on note cards around your home. Do whatever it takes to feed them into your brain and heart on a regular basis.

Let’s begin this process now.

Mat 10:29 “Are not two sparrows sold for a cent? And {yet} not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your Father. Mat 10:30 “But the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Mat 10:31 “So do not fear; you are more valuable than many sparrows.

Psa 63:8 My soul clings to You; Your right hand upholds me.

Jer 29:11 ‘For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.

Gen 1:27 God created man in His own image, in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.

Num 6:22 Then the LORD spoke to Moses, saying, Num 6:23 “Speak to Aaron and to his sons, saying, ‘Thus you shall bless the sons of Israel. You shall say to them: Num 6:24 The LORD bless you, and keep you; Num 6:25 The LORD make His face shine on you, And be gracious to you; Num 6:26 The LORD lift up His countenance on you, And give you peace.’ Num 6:27 “So they shall invoke My name on the sons of Israel, and I {then} will bless them.”

Phl 4:13 I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.

Deu 11:18 “You shall therefore impress these words of mine on your heart and on your soul; and you shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontals on your forehead. Deu 11:19 “You shall teach them to your sons, talking of them when you sit in your house and when you walk along the road and when you lie down and when you rise up. Deu 11:20 “You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates, Deu 11:21 so that your days and the days of your sons may be multiplied on the land which the LORD swore to your fathers to give them, as long as the heavens {remain} above the earth.

Psa 119:11 Your word I have treasured in my heart, That I may not sin against You.

Together let’s reprogram ourselves and seek to be more like Christ.

