j0426519.jpgEver have one of those Ugly Betty Days? The day where you wake up and your destined to have a bad hair day. For some reason those jeans that fit last week don’t fit today? Things get stuck in your teeth at lunch, of course that is after you spill half of your lunch all over you. You walk into your next meeting 10 minutes late only to find out your in the wrong conference room. The list goes on. We can choose to laugh or cry at this point. Half the time I get upset and then I start to see the humor and can’t help but laugh at myself. I seem to have a monopoly on days like that. My friends call them Carol days. Some of them even call or write to tell me about their Carol day. Oh… let me tell you the stories I could tell.

Seriously we all do have those days where we are so unhappy with our bodies. We feel ugly and unwanted. It is so easy to fall into this way of thinking because of our culture. Honestly, the other day someone told me I was beautiful and I was shocked! I wanted to say you must be talking to someone else. Then I caught myself. I am beautiful, well maybe not in a Kiera Knightly sort of way but in the way God intended for me to be.

Each of us are beautiful. Your unique, a one of a kind. You are God’s great Picasso, the perfect lyric, the perfect melody. Honestly there are parts of this masterpiece that just don’t work so well. I know your thinking the same thing. That’s all part of your uniqueness.

Celebrate with me that uniqueness that God has given you. That special something that makes you one of a kind. Realize that God does not make mistakes, that he lovingly made YOU! He chose you to be this very special way for a reason. Embrace who you are and the way God has formed you. Your beautiful from the inside out.

So back to Ugly Betty… turns out she maybe a bit awkward on the outside but that is part of her charm and yes, her beauty. She embraces it. Can you?

Psalms 139: 13-16 (The Message) says:
13 Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out; you formed me in my mother’s womb. 14 I thank you, High God – you’re breathtaking! Body and soul, I am marvelously made! I worship in adoration – what a creation! 15 You know me inside and out, you know every bone in my body; You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit, how I was sculpted from nothing into something. 16 Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth; all the stages of my life were spread out before you, The days of my life all prepared before I’d even lived one day.

