Seasons

sea·son (sē’zən)
n.

    1. One of the four natural divisions of the year, spring, summer, fall, and winter, in the North and South Temperate zones. Each season, beginning astronomically at an equinox or solstice, is characterized by specific meteorological or climatic conditions.
    2. The two divisions of the year, rainy and dry, in some tropical regions.
  1. A recurrent period characterized by certain occurrences, occupations, festivities, or crops: the holiday season; tomato season.
  2. A suitable, natural, or convenient time: a season for merriment.
  3. A period of time: gone for a season.


v. sea·soned, sea·son·ing, sea·sons

v. tr.

  1. To improve or enhance the flavor of (food) by adding salt, spices, herbs, or other flavorings.
  2. To add zest, piquancy, or interest to: seasoned the lecture with jokes.
  3. To treat or dry (lumber, for example) until ready for use; cure.
  4. To render competent through trial and experience: a lawyer who had been seasoned by years in the trial courts.
  5. To accustom or inure; harden: troops who had been seasoned in combat. See Synonyms at harden.
  6. To moderate; temper.
    v. intr.
    To become usable, competent, or tempered. Seasons

Amazing how one word can have so many definitions.

Gary Chapman has even entitled an album Circles and Seasons.

I love this album because it speaks of the changes in our lives which can include highs as well as lows.

Seasons are constantly changing. For me, the loss of a job, the death of a friend and counselor, the death of a dog even. Seasons are not all bad. I love spring, it’s a new beginning and everything turns green and begins to bloom. Like when I started back in youth ministries after being gone for so long. I have been blessed with so many new friends and people who love and care for me. I even started dating again after side lining myself for a while.

Seasons can often be known as peaks and valleys. A season may be spent in a desert, you know that time of your life when no oasis can be found. You feel abandoned and all alone. As you wander aimlessly you may realize that this is the time you rely on God the most. You begin to wonder if he is there because you ca not feel him. In these times you have to trust and know that He IS there.

I have been somewhat reflective and thought about the seasons that I my self am going through as well as the seasons my friends are going through. Some of these seasons are times for rejoicing and others are times of truly clinging to our Savior.

I love the Old Testament. Reading Job shows me time and time again how important it is to rely on God. I am to TRUST HIM in ALL things, and in ALL seasons, good and bad. Job lost everything but in the end gained so much. You know, I can’t help but think that even if he had never gained anything back that he still would have had so much. He still had his FAITH.

Many of us know the story of King David. He had seasons of joy, fear, victory and defeat. There were natural consequences to all his choices. He too held his faith and repented. He was truly blessed.

I love to see the term seasons used in scripture.

Jeremiah 8:7

Even the stork in the sky knows her appointed seasons, and the dove, the swift and the thrush observe the time of their migration. But my people do not know the requirements of the LORD.

Daniel 2:21

He changes times and seasons; he sets up kings and deposes them. He gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to the discerning.

Acts 14:17

Yet he has not left himself without testimony: He has shown kindness by giving you rain from heaven and crops in their seasons; he provides you with plenty of food and fills your hearts with joy.”

I Need Jesus by Gary Chapman

In t

S life of up and down, cold and hot

I don’t need a little help, I need a lot

In this mystifying maze that life brings

I can break it all down to just one simple thing

I need Jesus

I need Jesus

I need Jesus in my life

I need Jesus

I need Jesus

I need Jesus in my life

I don’t need a bigger house, another toy

Another stress relief distraction to enjoy

I need only to believe who I am

When I put myself completely in His loving hand

I need Jesus

I need Jesus

I need Jesus in my life

I need Jesus

I need Jesus

I need Jesus in my life

I love you all. I pray that God truly blesses you and that you will simply need Jesus in all Seasons.

