My children have been experiencing growing pains. I wish I could do something to help but it is all a part of the growing up process. As my much as I love those dear little ones they are going to grow and more then likely become taller then me. There is nothing I can do to stop them. As a mother I do what I can to hold them and love them during this awkward and painful process.

Just as children go through growing pains physically we all go through growing pains emotionally, relationally and spiritually. Like the potters kiln it’s the heat of the fire so to speak that finishes the pot or vase. Growing pains hurt. Birthing pains hurt. Like many kinds of pain it can be temporary. It’s how we respond to it. During labor I would often hear the nurse tell me to not fight the contraction but try to relax. If I did not relax through the pain I could make the delivery longer and harder then it needs to be.

This evening while driving home from a movie I was noticing the sunset. I think I am a die hard romantic, it’s taken me a while to admit to it. Yes, I’m not referring to the lover’s of Jane Austen novels. I’m not knocking them either because I love her novels. I’m referring to how I get absolutely amazed at the sound of a bird on my window seal. I get excited when the ground squirrel that lives in our backyard comes to watch us through the sliding glass door. I love an incredible full moon and the shapes of clouds. I love them because they are hand prints of God’s majesty. They amaze me. Like the fact that a bee can fly or how a flower blooms. What makes it to do that? The ocean leaves me breathless. I can sit and watch it for hours. It’s constantly changing, never the same. After a long day of boogie boarding my kids were with cousins of mine picking up sea shells. I was sitting by the fire on the beach when I looked up to see a dolphin playing in the water. He was beautiful. Leaping up out of the water and gracefully diving back in. Soon he was joined by a friend and the frolicked in front of my eyes for about twenty minutes. It laughed like a school girl. Their enjoyment of playing with one another spilled over to me. Now that was a gift from God. I get so excited just thinking of these “love” gifts always sent me way.

This evening I was brought to tears as I saw the colors in the sky and the shapes of the clouds. I was listening to a song on the radio that I love. It’s one of those love songs to a God who romances me every day.

Yes, lately I have felt a bit a lone, or trapped in a body that has strong limitations. Tonight Jesus reminded me of his love for me through this beautiful sunset with its billowing clouds and soft hues of pinks, blues and purples. It was a glimpse of Heaven. His way of saying I’m right beside you and one day you will be whole. I promise you.

It’s then that I was reminded that these growing pains are a part of what makes us “taller” in our Faith. Now that I think about it, it’s more of a reverse growing “taller” because scripture says we are to have the faith of a child. Simple, pure, trusting and just knowing because He said it was so.

Here’s that song I was listening to.

Ten Shekel Shirt

Lately, I’ve been thinking about You
And lately, I’ve been dreaming of You
And lately, I can’t get You out of my head
Get You out of my head

chorus:
Something about the ocean
Makes me rise up and praise
Something about the heavens
Makes me stand in awe again
Something about the sunrise
Reminds me of Your faithfulness
Something about the ocean
And I’m lost in love again

I’ll sing until I sense a smile
Upon Your great and lovely face
And till I know Your glory’s in this place
Your glory’s in this place

Are you like me? Have you been going through growing pains, or in my case fighting them? It’s ok because you’re not alone. Open up the scriptures and you will see others like King David, Simon Peter or even that apostle formerly known as Saul. You are in good company. Just remember it’s temporary and look to the Heaven’s. Just like how I want to love on my children during their pain, God wants to love on you during yours.

Let me know how God is working in your life or how I could pray for you.

To read about how this amazing creation came into existence you can go to http://bible1.crosswalk.com/OnlineStudyBible/bible.cgi?word=Genesis+1&section=1&version=msg&new=1&oq=&NavBook=ge&NavGo=1&NavCurrentChapter=1 . This I from “The Message”.

