This last week I have been learning many lessons. The biggest is my desire to be more like my Heavenly Father and to focus on Him.

Now many of you know from past emails that I’m a Daddy’s girl. I’m the only daughter to my parents and only sister to my brother. So you got it. I’m spoiled. I’m blessed and I’m loved. Growing up my Dad would put his arm around me and ask if I was his little girl. My answer was always YES! Still to this day I love to call on my way to work so I can talk to my Dad. He lives across the country and we both wish we were closer. Often I call for instructions on how to repair something. He will give me step by step instructions and wonderful advice. However, usually at the end he will mention wishing he were closer or that I had someone to do the repair for me. You see I am my Father’s daughter. I have some of his facial features even his feet. However, maybe it was God’s sense of humor, but you see I also resemble another Father. A very famous one named, “Tim the tool man Taylor”. Well, ok I don’t look like him but my skill in repair work and the gracefulness completing it would come directly from him. I’ve been known to fall off a ladder and end up on crutches. So thus my father’s concern.

Each of us resembles family members. I have friends who adopted children and they all still look a like. You know how people just grow to look a like? I’ve seen this with couples as they grow older. You just kind of know that they go together.

This evening I was thinking about life. All it’s drama and how I want to have a more simpler life. Recently, I have had to attend a couple of funerals. One for someone I loved dearly. The other for someone a friend loved dearly. During these services Pastors and loved ones spoke of this persons life and what it meant. This made me reflect on the lives of others I have known, looked up to and loved who have gone.

An old acquaintance of mine once wrote a beautiful song. The song has been sung by many but I recall the memory of one of my child hood heroes, Danny Gaither, as he performed it. I remember the first time I heard him sing this song. He changed the words around to be sung by a man. I had heard others perform it but for me this memory is sweet. Danny himself has since passed away. Probably why that memory means so much to me. As I recalled the song I started to sing it. I realized that one day when I’m in the arms of Jesus in paradise I hope these words are true for me and my life.

Father’s Eyes

(Gary Chapman)I may not be every mother’s dream for her little girl
And my face may not grace the mind of everyone in the world
But that’s all right as long as I can have one wish I pray
When people look inside my life, I want to hear them say

[Chorus:]
She’s got her Father’s eyes, her Father’s eyes
Eyes that find the good in things
When good is not around
Eyes that find the source of help
When help just can’t be found
Eyes full of compassion, seeing every pain
Knowin’ what you’re going through, and feeling it the same
Just like my Father’s eyes
My Father’s eyes
My Father’s eyes
Just like my Father’s eyes

And on that day when we will pay for all the deeds we have done
Good and bad they’ll all be had to see by everyone
And when you’re called to stand and tell just what you saw in me
More than anything I know, I want your words to be

What will people say? I wonder? What will people say of you?

Do you resemble your father?

Here are some scriptures that came to my mind this evening.

Ephesians 4:20 – For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand so that we would walk in them.

 

Genesis 1:27 – God created man in His own image, in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.

